ecotourism

A Long Expected Journey

Part 1 of an entry. Just to give what I went through its necessary literary justice.

I awoke at 5 o’clock in the morning in the 28th of May, in the Year of our Lord Two Thousand and Fifteen.The previous night I had prepared the best I could with a limited budget. I bought cans of sardines, cup noodles, plastics and a liquids. I had a few clothes. I woke early because I needed to be at the venue early. I was going climbing you see.

My boss invited me to participate more than a month ago. The hotel is building an eco-tourism branding in a religious colony in Makilala, North Cotabato for the first New Israel  ecotourism festival. What I found was more than an “encounter with nature and culture“. I had expected an easy climb. I had not expected the customs of its people. Or how said customs would wake me up in the middle of the night four times. Or how I would nearly fall from the sky. Indeed it was less of an encounter and more of a collision.

I was tasked with bringing the registration materials to the place. On the back of a motorcycle, I packed the materials through the cold breezy morning. From Avenue One Hotel in Digos City to New Israel, Makilala is about 40 kilometers. Along the path to New Israel were goma (rubber) trees and other cash crops that people are tending.  In developing the place, the provincial government is investing with concrete roads all the way from the main road.

Iglesia ni Jehovah

Road to Brgy. New Israel.

When I arrived at the place the first thing I noticed was how…. eccentric the people are.

Leave a Reply

